Ruthey and Team Win Third Consecutive Pro-Junior

Jul 16, 2018

Coralville, Iowa – The Iowa PGA Pro-Junior presented by Bridgestone was held today at the Brown Deer Golf Club. Teams were comprised of one Iowa PGA Professional and three junior amateurs. The teams were broken into divisions based on the oldest junior in the group. There was a total of three divisions, Junior Boys (13 & Under), Senior Boys (14-17) and Senior Girls (14-17). 

Mark Ruthey and his team of Anthony Ruthey, Ryan Bussert and Ethan Earl took home the Senior Boys Division with a 10-under-par 132. This marks the third consecutive year that Ruthey’s team has won the Pro-Junior Senior Boys Division. 

Joe Butler and his team (Nate Spear, Mateo Rascon and Tomas Rascon) finished in second place in the Senior Boys Division with a 5-under-par 137. Jeff Smith and his team comprised of Spencer Tucker, Austin Hafner and Joe Glasgow, claimed third place with a 4-under 138. Click here to view full Senior Boys Division Results.


Iowa PGA Professional Sean McCarty and his team of Jack McCarty, Zach McCarty and JJ Grimm won the Junior Boys Division team competition with a team total of 8-under-par 134. Ryan McClintock and his team of John Dobbe, Ethan Blomme and Reid Hay finished in second in the Junior Boys Division with a 6-under-par 136. Brian Wilson’s team (Brock Wilson, Will Coohey and Jackson Webber) finished behind them in third place with a 3-over-par 145. Click here to view full Junior Boys Division results

The Senior Girls Division was won by Jeff Schmid and his team of Ellie Kouba, Rylee Goodfellow and Rylee Fay. The first-place finishers carded a 9-over-par 151. Brian Wernimont and his team of Neely Marcus, Grace Crimmins and Ella Johnson recorded a
14-over-par 156 to secure second place. Click here to view full Senior Girls Division results.  

In addition to the Pro-Junior team event, this tournament also featured individual Open, Senior and Super Senior Divisions. 

McCarty got his fifth win on the Iowa PGA schedule, carding an 8-under-par 63 at his home course today. McCarty tallied seven birdies in the round, including three-in-a-row on Nos. 3-5, and eagled the par-4 18th hole. Justin Smool and Ryan McClintock finished right behind McCarty at T2. Both Smool and McClintock recorded a 7-under-par 64. Click here to view full Open Division results. 

John Bermel claimed the Senior Division with a 3-under-par 68. Bermel recorded four birdies, two on each nine, in route to his second Senior Division win of the 2018 season. Steve Hutton and Jeff Smith finished T2, coming up just one stroke shy of Bermel. Click here for full Senior Division Results. 

Joe Butler of Burlington Golf Club got his first win in Super Senior Division of the 2018 season with a 1-under-par 70 at the Pro-Junior today. The defending Super Senior Player of the Year poured in three birdies on Nos. 1-3, and an eagle on the par-5 10th hole to claim his victory. Click here to view full Super Senior Division results. 

The Iowa PGA would like to thank Bridgestone for sponsoring this event. We would also like to thank Head Professional Sean McCarty and Assistant Professional Brian Wernimont and the entire Brown Deer Golf Club staff for hosting this year’s event.     

The Iowa PGA Professional Championship presented by Club Car & Omega is the next event on the Iowa PGA schedule. The Section Championship takes place next Monday, July 23-24 at the Glen Oaks Country Club. Click here for more information.