McCarty Voted into Iowa Golf Hall of Fame

Jan 14, 2019

Ankeny, Iowa – Iowa PGA Member Sean McCarty was voted into the Iowa Golf Hall of Fame the Iowa Golf Association announced yesterday. McCarty marks the third Iowa PGA Member to get into the Hall of Fame in the last two years (Larry Gladson, 2018 & Charlie Burkart, 2018).

McCarty, has been among the best in the Iowa PGA Section since he turned pro and the accolades he has received match his ability. He has earned Iowa PGA Player of the Year honors nine times and Assistant Player of the Year six times.  He has won four Iowa Opens (1997, 2005, 2008, 2013), four Herman Sani Tournaments (2007, 2008, 2010, 2016), the 2012 Iowa PGA Section Championship and the 1998 Waterloo Open.
The 2018 Iowa PGA Player of the Year, has qualified for two major championships in his career, the 2003 U.S. Open at Olympia Fields CC in Chicago and the 100th PGA Championship at Bellerive CC in St. Louis this past August. McCarty earned his spot in the PGA Championship with a T2 finish at the 51st PGA Professional Championship in June at the Bayonet and Black Horse Golf Course in Seaside, California.

The 100th PGA Championship marked the second PGA TOUR event for McCarty in 2018. In July, McCarty made his fourth-career appearance at the John Deere Classic after advancing out of Monday qualifying for the first time in his career. Overall, McCarty has played in over a dozen and PGA TOUR Events.

The 2018 season featured a lot of top-finishes for McCarty, who competed in 15 Iowa PGA events. He had 11 top-five finishes including five wins. He also finished second at the 2018 Iowa PGA Professional Championship, T7 at the waterloo open and T15 in the Cedar Rapids Open.