Dickerson Named Patriot Award Winner, McCarty & Flory Named Burkart Winners

Oct 27, 2020

Dickerson Wins 2020 Iowa PGA Patriot Award

Riverside, Iowa – SGM (ret.) Jim Dickerson III of Finkbine Golf Course/GIVE has been named the 2020 Iowa PGA Patriot Award winner by the Iowa PGA Award’s Committee. The Patriot Awarded is presented to the Iowa PGA Professional who personified patriotism through the game of golf and demonstrated unwavering commitment and dedication to the men and women who valiantly served and protected the United States of America.
Dickerson has been an Iowa PGA Member for 25.6 years. He’s been employed with University of Iowa Finkbine Golf Course since 1991. Dickerson has also won the Bill Strausbaugh Award in 2012. In 2014 Dickerson was named the recipient of the 2014 National Patriot Award by the PGA of America.
He has a career in the military that spanned four decades beginning with the Vietnam War and ending with his retirement in 1991. Dickerson served as the girls’ golf coach at Regina High School for one season and went on to coach both the men’s and women’s teams at Cornell College until resigning in 2008 to take a position as Director of instruction for the GIVE Foundation (Golf for Injured Veterans Everywhere). Dickerson has stated many times his good fortune and privilege to combine his 2 loves, "the military and golf." To date, he has conducted golf classes for over 1,000 veterans and their golf buddies at the Riverside Casino and Golf Resort.
The Iowa PGA Congratulates Sergeant Major (ret.) Jim Dickerson as our 2020 Iowa PGA Patriot Award Winner.


McCarty and Flory Named Charlie Burkart Scholarship Recipient
Riverside, Iowa – Brandon McCarty of North Liberty, Iowa and Bailee Flory of Amana Colonies Golf Club have been selected as the 2020 Charlie Burkart Scholarship honorees by the Iowa PGA Foundation Charlie Burkart Scholarship Committee.
McCarty plans to play golf and major in Business with a minor in Finance during college. McCarty will start his golf and college career at Kirkwood, with the goal to transfer to a D1 school after year two. Following college, his dream would be to continue to play golf at the Professional level Teaching Professional and manage a golf course.

“I am very honored and appreciative that I was selected as the 2020 Charlie Burkart Scholarship winner. This award will be a tremendous help as I continue my academic and golf career at the next level, McCarty said.”
Flory started her golf career at Waverly-Shell Rock High School before attending Wartburg College.  At Wartburg she excelled on the golf team including playing at the NCAA Division III National Finals in 2018.  
After serving an internship with the Iowa PGA Section in the Summer of 2018, she was hired that Fall as the Tournament Assistant.  Flory has been promoted to Junior Golf Coordinator in October of 2019. Flory left her position as the Junior Golf Coordinator to take a position as the Associate Golf Professional/Tournament Coordinator at Amana Colonies Golf Club in March 2020.

"Thank you to the Charlie Burkart Scholarship committee for granting me this scholarship." Flory continues "I'm grateful to be the recipent so I can continue to further my education through the PGM Program and become a PGA Professional."
The Iowa PGA Congratulates Brandon McCarty and Bailee Flory as our 2020 Charlie Burkart Scholarship Recipients.


For more information and schedule updates, fans can follow the Iowa PGA on Facebook (facebook.com/Iowapga), Twitter (@iowapga) and YouTube (youtube.com/iowapga).  Fans can also get a behind the scenes look on Instagram (@iowapga).