Charlie Burkart Scholarship

2023 Charlie Burkart Scholarship​

Each applicant is required to submit the following when applying for the scholarship:

1. High school transcript of work completed and description of any post-secondary academic achievement.

2. Two recommendations – may be from a high school administrator or teacher, a PGA professional or other non-family connections.

3. Applicant must include a self-statement concerning his/her interest in golf, other activities and awards, his/her educational and vocational plans/career goals and financial need.

4. Applicant is requested to send a list of other scholarship they have applied for and those that they have received.

The Iowa PGA Foundation annually awards a college scholarship in memory of Charlie Burkart, PGA member for 49 years and Head PGA Professional at the Elmcrest Country Club in Cedar Rapids for 42 years. The purpose of the scholarship is to assist students in furthering their education. At least one high school graduate will be the 2023 Scholarship recipient in the amount of $1,500 per year for four years. Other previously graduated applicants will be reviewed with additional scholarships awarded when possible.

Any graduating high school senior or previous graduate residing within the boundaries of the Iowa PGA Section and the State of Iowa is eligible to apply. The Iowa PGA Section is bounded on the west by U.S. Highway 71 and includes an area of Western Illinois from a point north of Quincy, east to near Springfield and directly north. It includes the major cities of Monmouth, Macomb, Galesburg, Moline, Rock Island, Kewanee and Galena. It does not include the cities of Freeport, Springfield or Quincy.

Scholarship winners are selected on the basis of their interest and activity in golf, the potential for future contributions to the game, leadership skills/community involvement, then on their academic/professional ability and financial need.

The Iowa PGA Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2023 Charlie Burkart Scholarship. Applicants must complete the application and mail to the scholarship committee prior to June 18, 2023.

Applications can be mailed to Iowa PGA Section, 3184 Highway 22, Riverside, IA 52327. Call 319-648-0026 with any questions.
Email Applicants to Stephanie Mason at in PDF Form.

2022 Charlie Burkart Scholarship – High School

Congratulations to Keokuk, Iowa native, Jordan Sisk on being selected as the 2022 Charlie Burkart Scholarship honoree by the Iowa PGA Foundation Charlie Burkart Scholarship committee.  

Congratulations to Jordan Sisk on receiving this award.
Jordan will be attending Eastern Iowa Community College-Muscatine Community College Campus. He thought of everything from Petroleum Engineering to joining the F.B.I. as a Behavioral Analyst at first. He eventually found something that filled his sports interest and gave him a career option, that being a Golf Course Manager. Being a Golf Course Manager would allow him to fulfill his sports addiction and also make a career out of something that he loves to do – golf.

Previous Burkart Recipients

2022 Jordan Sisk 2010 Patrick Hagenbucher 1998 Ryan Coppess
2021 Paige Hoffman 2009 Justin McCormick 1997 David Loomis
2020 Brandon McCarty 2008 Michael McCunniff 1996 Cory McKim
2019 Anthony Ruthey 2007 Christopher Williamson 1995 Tyler Brooks
2018 Nicolaus Latcham 2006 Brian Siems 1994 Brad Cady
2017 Will Babcock 2005 Mark Gladson 1993 Kyle Louvar
2016 Nicholas Higgins 2004 Nick McCrorey 1992 Ryan Wedemeyer
2015 Aaron Wirt 2003 Logan Beatty 1991 Travis Bergan
2014 Jordan Bowers 2002 Adam Pritchard 1990 Jim Jermier
2013 Payton Minear 2001 Michael Denklau 1989 Steven William
2012 Christian Archer 2000 Blake Jones 1988 Allen McMullen
2011 Dane Worley 1999 Jeff Gudenkauf 1987 Brian Coughlin