87th Iowa Open Begins July 31st

Jul 30, 2020

87th Iowa Open Begins July 31st

Riverside, IA – The 87th Iowa Open will be held on July 31 – August 2 at Blue Top Ridge in Riverside. The tournament first began in 1927 and has since been recognized as a Midwest Golf Championship. The event has a rich tradition of Champions, most famously, Zach Johnson is a two-time winner of the Iowa Open. (Click here for full list of Iowa Open winners). This year’s field hosts a handful of previous champions as well as some of the most successful local golfers.

Iowa PGA Member, Sean McCarty, will look for his fifth Iowa Open victory this week at Blue Top Ridge. McCarty is coming off a fourth-place finish at the Iowa PGA Professional Championship at the Wakonda Club on July 13-14.

McCarty (2013, 2008, 2005, 1997) and Jeff Schmid (2000) are the only Iowa PGA Members in the 87th Iowa Open field that have previously won an Iowa Open.

Defending Iowa Open Champion, Matthew Walker from Ottumwa, IA, will be making his return this year after carding 13-under-par 203 in three rounds a season ago. Walker didn’t make one bogey at the 2019 Iowa Open. He held off a competitive field by winning in a playoff against Gavin Hall.

The first round of the Iowa Open begins Friday, July 31 with groups teeing off of Numbers 1 and 10 at 7:30 a.m. Following the Second round on Saturday, the field will eventually be cut to the low 70 played and ties. Please Click here for more tournament information such as tee times and pairings.

The Iowa PGA would like to thank Director of Golf Bryan Haas, PGA Assistant Professional Michael McNamara, PGA Teaching Professional Tracy Vest and the entire staff at Blue Top Ridge and our GIVE volunteers for hosting this 3-day event. We would also like to thank our sponsors Riverside Casino and Golf Resort.

For more information and schedule updates, fans can follow the Iowa PGA on Facebook (facebook.com/Iowapga), Twitter (@iowapga) and YouTube (youtube.com/iowapga).  Fans can also get a behind the scenes look on Instagram (@iowapga).