6 Iowa PGA Members to Compete in 51st PGA Professional Championship

Jun 15, 2018

R1 & R2 Pairings and Tee Times (Times in PST)
Seaside, California
– Darin Fisher, Sean McCarty, Ryan McClintock, John Panek, Chad Proehl and Jeff Schmid will all compete in the 51st PGA Professional Championship on June 17-20 at Bayonet (BY) and Black Horse (BH) in Seaside California. All four rounds of this event will be broadcasted on the Golf Channel.
Television Schedule: Golf Channel (All times CDT)
R1: Sunday, June 17 3:30-6:00 p.m.
R2: Monday, June 18 6:00-9:00 p.m.
R3: Tuesday, June 19 6:00-9:00 p.m.
R4: Wednesday, June 20 7:30-8:30 p.m.
Established in 1968, the PGA Professional Championship is the largest all-professional national championship. It is the showcase event for PGA Professionals, featuring some of the finest players in the Association. 
The format of this tournament is stroke play, four rounds, 18-holes daily on two courses. The entire field will compete on both courses, once in the first two rounds, with the final two rounds being played on the Bayonet Course. Following the first two rounds, the field will be reduced to the low 90 scores and ties. There will also be a 54-hole cut, reducing the field to the low 70 scores and ties for the final round. The top 20 finishers in this event will clinch berths in the 2018 PGA Championship taking place August 9-12 at Bellerive Country Club.
Iowa PGA Members Competing:
Darin Fisher; The Preserve on Rathbun Lake, Moravia, Iowa
R1 Tee Time – 5:30 a.m. on BH
R2 Tee Time – 10:40 a.m. on BY*
Player Notes: Three-time Iowa PGA Section Merchandiser of the Year (Resort Courses) 2010, 2012, 2014…6-Time Qualifier, PGA PNC National Championship 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2017, 2018…2017-18 Global Golf Post Honorable Mention PGA All Pro Team…Played, 2017 PGA Tour John Deere Classic…Winner, 2016 Iowa Section PGA Section Championship (67-66-66 [- 17]—new tournament record)…2016 Iowa Section PGA Low Season Tournament Stroke Average award (69.46)…4-Time 2nd Stage qualifier for U.S. Open Qualifier (2004, 2007, 2010, 2018)…2-Time Winner, Iowa Section PGA Match Play Championship (2012, 2014)…Winner, 2012 Herman Sani Championship…Advanced to second stage of 2004 PGA Tour Qualifying School…Winner, 2002 Albia Pro-Am, opened the tournament with a 59… (59-67 [-18]— tournament scoring record)
Sean McCarty; Brown Deer Golf Club, Coralville, Iowa
R1 Tee Time – 6:40 a.m. on BH
R2 Tee Time – 11:50 a.m. on BY*
Player Notes: Making his seventh appearance in the PGA Professional Championship, best finish T-32 in 2011…Eight-time Iowa PGA Section Player of the Year (2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015)…Winner, 1998 Waterloo Open, 1997 Iowa Open…Competed in the 2003 U.S. Open at Olympia Fields…Winner, 2008 First American Bank Iowa Open; 2007 October Shoot Out Championship; 2005 Iowa PGA Match Play Championship…Member of 1992 Big Ten Conference Championship Team at the University of Iowa, the only men’s conference champion team in school history…In 1995, was named an All-American alongside Stewart Cink (Georgia Tech) and Tiger Woods (Stanford)…Competed in the 1988 Junior PGA Championship and the 2004 and 2005 PGA Assistant Championship…3-time individual Iowa State champion at West Branch High.
Ryan McClintock; Davenport Country Club, Pleasant Valley, Iowa
R1 Tee Time – 7:00 a.m. on BY
R2 Tee Time – 12:10 p.m. on BH*
Player Notes: Winner, 2015 Iowa PGA Professional Championship at TPC Deere Run and played in the 2016 John Deere Classic…5-time winner of the National Car Rental Iowa PGA Assistant Championship (2008, 2011-14).
John Panek; Davenport Country Club, Pleasant Valley, Iowa
R1 Tee Time – 12:45 p.m. on BY
R2 Tee Time – 7:35 a.m. on BH*
Player Notes: Playing in his fifth PGA Professional Championship, best finish T-56 in 2006; finished T-62 in 2007; and missed the cut in 2008 and 2013…Winner, 2007 Iowa PGA Match Play Championship…T-6, 2017 Iowa PGA Professional Championship…Played in and missed the cut in the 2006 John Deere Classic. 
Chad Proehl; Sugar Creek Municipal Golf Course, Waukee, Iowa
R1 Tee Time – 6:55 a.m. on BY*
R2 Tee Time – 12:05 p.m. on BH
Player Notes: Best finish in PGA Professional Championship is a T-20 in 2012, but did not emerge from a playoff to earn an exemption to the PGA Championship…Winner, 2017 and 2010 Iowa PGA Section Championship; 2016 Iowa PGA Section Match Play Championship… Iowa PGA Player of the Year (2016, 2012, 2010) …is slated to play in the 2018 John Deere Classic (previously competed in the 2008, 2011, 2012)…Played in the 2018 Principal Charity Classic…1990 N.A.I.A. All-American and National Champion, 2-time District NAIA Champion…1989 Drake University Relays Champion…1985, State of Iowa High School Champion
Jeff Schmid; Brown Deer Golf Course, Coralville, Iowa
R1 Tee Time – 7:15 a.m. on BH*
R2 Tee Time – 12:25 p.m. on BY 
Player Notes: Returns to the PGA Professional Championship for the 4th time in 5 years…Former assistant men’s golf coach at the University of Iowa…from 1991-2008 his playing career included tours in Asia, South America, and Canada as well as tournaments throughout the United States including on the PGA and Web.com Tours…Winner, 2016 Gateway PGA Section Professional Championship; 2015 Event No. 4 of the PGA Tournament Series (in 9-hole playoff over Adam Rainaud); 2013 Gateway PGA Section Championship; 2012 Gateway PGA Assistants Championship…served as volunteer assistant coach for the University of Missouri men’s team in 2013, for the Tigers’ women’s program in 2015 and 2016, and for the Stetson (Fla.) University women’s golf team from 2009-11…played collegiately at the University of Iowa (former team captain and 4-time letter winner)