2014 Iowa PGA Professional Championship Presented by Club Car, Mercedes-Benz and OMEGA Press Release

Aaron Krueger, PGA, Defending Champion

Aaron Krueger, PGA, Defending Champion

The 2014 Iowa PGA Professional Championship Presented by Club Car, Merces-Benz and OMEGA will be held at Wakonda Club in Des Moines, Iowa on July 28th-29th.  Seventy-one Professionals will participate in this 54-hole championship, which is regarded as the premier championship among Iowa PGA members.  The first day of the tournament (Monday) will consist of thirty-six holes and the final eighteen holes will be conducted on Tuesday morning.

This tournament serves as a qualifier for the 48th (2015) PGA Professional National Championship, presented by Club Car, Mercedes-Benz and OMEGA, at the Philadelphia Cricket Club in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, scheduled for June 28-July 1, 2015.  The low five Professionals will qualify for the national event and the champion will also earn a spot in the 2015 John Deere Classic, which is a PGA Tour event held in Silvis, Illinois each July.

Aaron Krueger, Head PGA Professional, at Wakonda Club in Des Moines has already earned an exemption into the 2015 PGA Professional National Championship because of his outstanding play in this year’s national tournament this past June.  Krueger finished in a tie for 12th place at this year’s national event which was held at The Dunes Golf & Beach Club & Grande Dunes Resort Club in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.  By finishing in the top 20 of the national event, Krueger has also qualified for the 2015 PGA Championship which will be held at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky on August 7th-10th, 2014.

Past champions in this year’s Iowa PGA Professional Championship Presented by Club Car, Mercedes-Benz and OMEGA include the following Iowa PGA Professionals.

Aaron Krueger, Wakonda Club, 2013, 2008

Sean McCarty, Brown Deer Golf Club, 2012

Chris Black, Hickory Grove Country Club, 2011

Chad Proehl, Sugar Creek Golf Course, 2010

Judd Gibb, Fort Dodge Country Club, 2009

John Bermel, Pheasant Ridge Golf Course, 2006, 2004, 2000, 1993

Chris Winkel, Grand View University, 2003, 2002, 1999

Kevin DeNike, Blue Top Ridge, 2001, 1997

Ken Schall, Glen Oaks Country Club, 1995, 1990, 1989, 1988

Bob Moreland, Ottumwa, Iowa, 1981, 1976

Special thanks to Presenting Sponsors; Club Car, Mercedes-Benz, and OMEGA.  Also thanks to Supporting Sponsors; Titleist/FootJoy, Nike Golf, TaylorMade-adidas/Ashworth, and PGA Tour.  The Iowa PGA would also like to thank Sterling Cut Glass for providing crystal awards for all Iowa PGA major championships in 2014.

This tournament wouldn’t be possible without the generosity and hospitality put forth by the members and staff at Wakonda Club.

Tournament results, pairings, and information may be accessed by clicking HERE.


By | 2017-04-17T11:57:34+00:00 July 22nd, 2014|0 Comments

Leave A Comment