2008 Iowa PGA Drive, Chip & Putt Finals

The 2008 Iowa PGA Drive, Chip & Putt finals were held Saturday, August 9, 2008 at Twin Pines GC in Cedar Rapids.  Iowa PGA Professionals held local qualifiers across the section with winners in each age division advancing to one of four regional sites.  The top two winners in each age division at each regional advanced to the finals with 67 total competitors competing in 5 age divisions both boys and girls; 9 & under, 10-11, 12-13, 14-15, 16-17.  Special thanks to sponsors Musco Sports Lighting and Carver Hardware for their continued support of this program.  The Iowa PGA would also like to thank Twin Pines GC and PGA Professionals, Apprentices and Volunteers for their support; Lisa Miller, Steve Charters, Dustin Miller, Neal Clasen, Jeff DeCook, Dennis Gunther, Mike Vaughn and Gene Carpenter. 

This three-stage contest tests Iowa Section junior’s skills in a fun alternative golf challenge. During the driving portion of the contest, junior are given 4 drives where the 3 best are scored based on length of the drive and accuracy of the drive. Juniors are then given 4 chipping chances where the 3 best are scored. Two circles (3ft. radius and 7 ft. radius) are marked around the hole. Juniors are given various points for the location of their chip. The putting challenge is then set up at two lengths, 5 feet and 8 feet. Each junior is given two chances at each length and given points for their efforts.

The winners of the Iowa PGA Drive, Chip & Putt Finals and their parents are then invited by the Iowa PGA to an Iowa State University Basketball game where they will be recognized and introduced on the court sometime during the game.  Congratulations to all participating competitors!






From left to right:  Connor Aten, Devon Pyle, Ben Bermel

1.  Devon Pyle, State Center, IA – 101
2.  Connor Aten, Galesburg, IL – 90
3.  Ben Bermel, Cedar Falls, IA – 76

From left to right:  Hailey Bermel, Taylor Nesselroad, Cassidy Beamer

1.  Cassidy Beamer, W. Des Moines, IA – 75
2.  Hailey Bermel, Cedar Falls, IA – 70
3.  Taylor Nesselraod, Galesburg, IL – 65

From left to right to left:  Hunter Nesselroad, Taylor Stewart, Bud Klein

1.  Hunter Nesselroad, Galesburg, IL – 142
  2.  Bud Klein, Davenport, IA – 120
3.  Tanner Stewart, Cedar Rapids, IA – 120

From left to right:  Jordan Koehler, Jill Pettitt, Addison Long

1.  Jordan Koehler, Galesburg, IL – 76
2.  Jill Pettitt, Carroll, IA – 71
3.  Addison Long, Cedar Falls, IA – 57

From left to right:  Adam Hutton, Landon Crippes, Jack Conway

1.  Jack Conway, Cedar Falls, IA – 117
2.  Landon Crippes, Cedar Rapids, IA – 102
3.  Adam Hutton, Muscatine, IA – 85

From left to right:  Anna Cullinan, Mara Masching, Rochelle Beardsley

1.  Anna Cullinan, Bettendorf, IA – 101
2.  Rochelle Beardsley, Peosta, IA – 97
3.  Mara Masching, Carroll, IA – 75

From left to right:  Will Hunemuller, Tyler Smith, David Blake

1.  David Blake, Galesburg, IL – 106
2.  Tyler Smith, Oskaloosa, IA – 105
3.  Will Hunemuller, Cedar Falls, IA – 97

From left to right:  Megan Miehe, Emily Thomas, Kelsey Faiferlick

1.  Megan Miehe, Peosta, IA – 91
2.  Emily Thomas, Moline, IL – 69
3.  Kelsey Faiferlick, Fort Dodge, IA – 62

From left to right:  Kyle McEwen, Max Moore, Ryan Horner

1.  Ryan Horner, Waukee, IA – 126
2.  Max Moore, Galesburg, IL – 108
3.  Kyle McEwen, Aledo, IL – 59

1.  Kaurie Kincaid, Knoxville, IA – 107



By | 2017-04-17T11:58:44+00:00 August 11th, 2008|0 Comments

Leave A Comment